The rewards of starting a little library in your neighborhood

IMG_3338I’ve probably mentioned the little neighborhood library that I began in front of my home a few years back.  My neighbor, George decided to build a more water proof version for me, and one that would accommodate more books.  We planned the dimensions over dinner and a bottle of wine. His wife, Kathy offered some cute little seahorse drawer handles that she had been saving for a special occasion. The roof is an old rubber pool liner offered by Nigel and Cathy, a couple from across the street who saw us working on the library in front of George’s place.  I used some left over paint from a craft project to paint it up. George put heavy duty wheels. And here it is.

Now I have four shelves instead of two and the shelves are bigger, so it’s easier to fit picture books. A pleasant bonus is that now,  I know my neighbors a little better. I admit that a few of the books don’t find their way back. But most do.  And,  I even get book donations dropped off at my door.

IMG_3337I have found roses, book marks and notes waiting left for me from appreciative readers. Yesterday, when I went out to replenish the library and this is the note that waiting for me.

Thanks Julia.  This is exactly why I do it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sankers2014
    Jul 13, 2014 @ 02:17:26

    Sheryl, I love this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

