Outdoor DIY art project

Ta Da!  Here’s my latest outdoor art…faux stained glass windows.

This is what I spent yesterday afternoon doing instead of writing. I’m thrilled.  It makes my shed look like a mini cottage.

What you’ll need:

an old window, simulated liquid leading, glass paint in several colors (available at craft stores…), paint brushes, a glass scraper or one-sided razor blade with a handle, and plastic containers for the paint.

1. take an old window.  Paint the frame (I had already done this since it was one of the original windows from my house.  I kept a few of the windows when I replaced my old windows with new double glazed ones).

2. clean the glass with vinegar and water.

3. create a design on paper (you can skip this step if you are using a simple design like mine)

3. use simulated liquid leading to “draw the lead lines”.  It’s easiest to use straight out of the bottle by squeezing the paint through the tiny nipple. This requires a steady hand though. Touch up the lead lines using a small paint brush.

4. let the faux lead dry for a few minutes then clean up your line with a glass scraper or one-sided razor blade. Don’t worry about a few wobbles in your line.  No one will even notice once you’ve finished the faux glass.

5. fill in the spaces between your leading with the colors of your choice.

Voila!

Of course it’s nowhere near as beautiful as my real stained glass windows, but hey, it’s perfect for the garden, and it only cost me $17.00 for the paint and an afternoon outside!

Tip: I used a stippling technique for the colored panels since I didn’t want the wall behind the windows to show through. But if you use regular brush strokes, you will see some brush lines in your window. Don’t worry about that either because it looks great no matter which technique you use.

Keep in mind that the paint will need to cure, so it will need to stay dry for a few days.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Granfield
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 03:36:40

    Lovely! and I like how it matches the fabric seen below in the chairs

    Reply

  2. andrea Spalding
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 09:24:43

    Looks wonderful. You are so clever Sheryl, and such an artistic eye.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

