I expected more from the NYT

I read an article in the New York Times this morning that made me so mad that I couldn’t stop myself from writing a letter to the editor.  Although “Adults Should Read Adult Books” by Joel Stein was an opinion piece, I really expected more from the New York Times.  Many of my colleagues felt it was better to ignore it, but I’m not comfortable letting this kind of unsubstantiated opinion pass unchallenged, and judging from the dozens of comments that followed, I’m not alone.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MichaelEdits
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 18:34:32

    At age 48, I’m finally reading Young Adult literature for the first time in my life. Excellent writing, relevant themes, and not so bloody long-winded as that guy at the NYT and his colleagues. Ditto “A Coyote’s In The House” by Elmore Leonard, which is in the Children’s section.

    No idea about Hunger Games, though. It might just be mind candy. But so what? Many adults devour that too. It’s not a crime.

    Reply

    • sherylbooks
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 19:20:36

      Good for you Michel. both good choices, and I agree about thematics. There are so many compelling books for young people these days. What strikes me about literature for young people is just how important story is…adult writers might be wise to take note, and drop some of the self-indulgences.

      As for the Hunger Games, it’s gritty, gripping, and far too plausible. It’s story at it’s best, partly because its plotted so well that you won’t want to put it down, partly because you come to know and care about the characters and what happens to them, and partly because the story stays with you long after you finish the last page. It makes you think about how easily our own world could resemble Catniss’ if we take a similar path.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

